The American Duchess

and his house party to see the Duke and Duchess of York at their home, Royal
Lodge, in Windsor Great Park. ... “I left with the distinct impression that while the
Duke of York was sold on the American station wagon, the duchess was not sold
 ...

The American Duchess

The American Duchess

Wallis Simpson is known as the woman at the center of the most scandalous love affair of the 20th century, but in this “unputdownable…lively and detailed” (The Times, London) biography, discover a woman wronged by history with new information revealed by the latest research and those who were close to the couple. The story that has been told repeatedly is this: The handsome, charismatic, and popular Prince Edward was expected to marry a well-bred virgin who would one day become Queen of England when he ascended the throne. But when the prince was nearly forty, he fell in love with a divorced American woman—Wallis Simpson. No one thought the relationship would last, and when the prince did become king, everyone assumed that was the end of the affair. But to the shock of the British establishment, the new king announced his intention to marry the American divorcée. Overnight, Wallis was accused of entrapping the prince in a seductive web in order to achieve her audacious ambition to be queen. After declaring that he could not rule without the woman he loved, the king abdicated, and his family banished him and his new wife from the country. The couple spent the rest of their days in exile, but happy in their devoted love for each other. Now, Anna Pasternak’s The American Dutchess tells a different story: that Wallis was the victim of the abdication, not the villain. Warm, well-mannered, and witty, Wallis was flattered by Prince Edward’s attention, but like everyone else, she never expected his infatuation to last. She never anticipated his jealous, possessive nature—and his absolute refusal to let her go. Edward’s true dark nature, however, was no secret to the royal family, the church, or the Parliament; everyone close to Edward knew that beyond his charming façade, he was utterly unfit to rule. Caught in Edward’s fierce obsession, she became the perfect scapegoat for those who wished to dethrone the troubled king. With profound insight and evenhanded research, Pasternak pulls back the curtain on one of the darkest fairy tales in recent memory and effortlessly reveals “a host of intriguing insights into a misunderstood woman” (Kirkus Reviews).

More Books:

The American Duchess
Language: en
Pages: 368
Authors: Anna Pasternak
Categories: Biography & Autobiography
Type: BOOK - Published: 2020-04-14 - Publisher: Atria Books

Wallis Simpson is known as the woman at the center of the most scandalous love affair of the 20th century, but in this “unputdownable…lively and detailed” (The Times, London) biography, discover a woman wronged by history with new information revealed by the latest research and those who were close to
American Duchess
Language: en
Pages: 368
Authors: Karen Harper
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2019-02-26 - Publisher: HarperCollins

Before there was Meghan Markle, there was Consuelo Vanderbilt, the original American Duchess. Perfect for readers of Jennifer Robson and lovers of Downton Abbey. Karen Harper tells the tale of Consuelo Vanderbilt, her “The Wedding of the Century” to the Duke of Marlborough, and her quest to find meaning behind
An American Duchess
Language: en
Pages: 500
Authors: Caroline Fyffe
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2020-03 - Publisher: Center Point

In Kent, England, the arrival of Beranger Northcott, Duke of Brightshire, causes a stir. Because with the duke comes his new American bride, who isn't quite what anyone expects. By accepting the hand of her beloved, Emma Brinkman went from hardworking Colorado rancher to duchess. Now she's expected to comport
The American Duchess Guide to 18th Century Dressmaking
Language: en
Pages: 240
Authors: Lauren Stowell, Abby Cox
Categories: Crafts & Hobbies
Type: BOOK - Published: 2017-11-21 - Publisher: Page Street Publishing

Bring History to Life Whether you wish you could time travel to the court of Versailles or the Highlands of Scotland, this comprehensive guide will walk you through how to make and wear your 18th century dream gown. Lauren Stowell and Abby Cox of American Duchess have endeavored to make
The American Duchess Guide to 18th Century Beauty
Language: en
Pages: 240
Authors: Lauren Stowell, Abby Cox
Categories: Crafts & Hobbies
Type: BOOK - Published: 2019-07-09 - Publisher: Page Street Publishing

Master Iconic 18th Century Hair and Makeup Techniques Ever wondered how Marie Antoinette achieved her sky-high hairstyle or how women in the 1700s created their voluminous frizz hairdos? The American Duchess Guide to 18th Century Beauty answers all your Georgian beauty questions—and teaches you all you need to know to

Popular All Time

In Patagonia
Into the Wild
Into Thin Air
Travels with Charley in Search of America
The RV Passive Income Guide: Learn The Laptop Lifestyle And Swap Your Day Job For Full-Time RV Living
Maui Revealed
A Walk in the Woods
Swiss Watching
A Year in Provence
The Outlaw Ocean
The Year of Living Danishly
Florida Move Guide
Dark Star Safari
The Bonjour Effect
Put the Kettle On: An American’s Guide to British Slang, Telly and Tea
London Sights: A Travel Guide to the Top 60 Attractions in London, England, UK
French Phrasebook & Dictionary
Mani

Recent Books: