Freed by Flame and Storm

He released it into her hand and she tightened her grip and closed her eyes. “What do you see?” Gesra asked. “What?” Erra said, but before anyone could answer, she saw. Flames appeared behind her eyelids, as if she were staring into an ...

Freed by Flame and Storm

Freed by Flame and Storm

For fans of Tamora Pierce and Kristin Cashore comes the exciting and thoughtful social-justice fantasy sequel to Bound by Blood and Sand. Revolution is nigh, and one seventeen-year-old girl stands at the head of it all. Jae used to be a slave, laboring with the rest of her people under a curse that forced her to obey any order she was given. At seventeen, she found the source of her people's lost magic and became the only person to break free--ever. Now she wants to use her power to free the rest of her people, but the ruling class will do anything to stop her. Jae knows that breaking the curse on her people would cause widespread chaos, even unimaginable violence between the castes, and her caste would likely see the worst of it. Many would die. But to let them remain shackled is to doom them to continue living without free will. How is one girl, raised a slave and never taught to wield power, supposed to decide the fate of a nation? "Much food for thought and discussion; but above all, a gripping read." —Kirkus Reviews "Unflinchingly honest...A satisfying sequel." —SLJ "The action of this memorable story is fast and furious, its challenges many, and the fight for right ever-present." —Booklist “Allen does a great job of interweaving elements of the backstory throughout...will appeal to readers looking for stories about social justice.” —VOYA

More Books:

Freed by Flame and Storm
Language: en
Pages: 352
Authors: Becky Allen
Categories: Young Adult Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2017-12-12 - Publisher: Delacorte Press

For fans of Tamora Pierce and Kristin Cashore comes the exciting and thoughtful social-justice fantasy sequel to Bound by Blood and Sand. Revolution is nigh, and one seventeen-year-old girl stands at the head of it all. Jae used to be a slave, laboring with the rest of her people under
Dark Flames
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: Amy Blankenship
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-10-26 - Publisher: Litres

Just as the vampire war escalates into a full-blown demon war, Zachary finds himself responsible for a beautiful necromancer who is connected to a dark moment in his past. He had watched her mother step across the thin line and straight into the arms of a demon. It was his
Flames in the Jungle
Language: en
Pages: 144
Authors: John Cunyus
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2006-09 - Publisher: iUniverse

From the walls of peaceful Cartagena, Colombia, two conspirators finalize a plan to destroy the Venezuelan government.Cold-blooded narco-terrorists attack a Dallas airport and hijack a plane to Colombia, leaving behind a trail of false clues. As an impatient American government prepares to strike back, a beautiful Colombian journalist and her
Storm's Heart
Language: en
Pages: 336
Authors: Thea Harrison
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2011-08-02 - Publisher: Penguin

Able to wield thunder and lightning, wyr sentinel Tiago Black Eagle has ruled the skies for centuries. His massive build and thunderous power make him one of the wyr's best weapons. And he's the one sent to protect Tricks, heir to the Dark Fae throne, when she's almost assassinated in
Flame of Requiem: The Complete Trilogy (World of Requiem)
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: Daniel Arenson
Categories: Young Adult Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2016-06-01 - Publisher: Moonclipse

In a cruel desert, slaves toil in chains. Their masters, seraphim with haloes and swan wings, drive them mercilessly with flaming whips. But long ago, these wretched, beaten people were not slaves. Long ago, they could become dragons. Now they fight to fly again. This bundle includes all three novels

Popular All Time

Quackery
Just Mercy
Molecular Gastronomy
Desk Reference to the Diagnostic Criteria From DSM-5®
When Death Becomes Life
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5®)
Uncommon Ground: Rethinking the Human Place in Nature
The Checklist Manifesto
Critical Race Theory (Third Edition)
Penn Statements, Vol. 40
The White Coat Investor
Dying Well
On Writing
AAA How to Drive
The Animated ABC Book
The Science of Storytelling
COVID-19 and the Global Predators
The Design of Everyday Things

Recent Books: