The Boys in the Boat

The emotional heart of the tale lies with Joe Rantz, a teenager without family or prospects, who rows not only to regain his shattered self-regard but also to find a real place for himself in the world.

The Boys in the Boat

The Boys in the Boat

The #1 New York Times–bestselling story about American Olympic triumph in Nazi Germany and now the inspiration for the PBS documentary “The Boys of ‘36'.” For readers of Unbroken, out of the depths of the Depression comes an irresistible story about beating the odds and finding hope in the most desperate of times—the improbable, intimate account of how nine working-class boys from the American West showed the world at the 1936 Olympics in Berlin what true grit really meant. It was an unlikely quest from the start. With a team composed of the sons of loggers, shipyard workers, and farmers, the University of Washington’s eight-oar crew team was never expected to defeat the elite teams of the East Coast and Great Britain, yet they did, going on to shock the world by defeating the German team rowing for Adolf Hitler. The emotional heart of the tale lies with Joe Rantz, a teenager without family or prospects, who rows not only to regain his shattered self-regard but also to find a real place for himself in the world. Drawing on the boys’ own journals and vivid memories of a once-in-a-lifetime shared dream, Brown has created an unforgettable portrait of an era, a celebration of a remarkable achievement, and a chronicle of one extraordinary young man’s personal quest.

More Books:

The Boys in the Boat
Language: en
Pages: 416
Authors: Daniel James Brown
Categories: Sports & Recreation
Type: BOOK - Published: 2013-06-04 - Publisher: Penguin

The #1 New York Times–bestselling story about American Olympic triumph in Nazi Germany and now the inspiration for the PBS documentary “The Boys of ‘36'.” For readers of Unbroken, out of the depths of the Depression comes an irresistible story about beating the odds and finding hope in the most
The Boys in the Boat
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: Daniel James Brown
Categories: Juvenile Nonfiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2018-01-03 - Publisher: Thorndike Press Large Print

Books about The Boys in the Boat
The Boys in the Boat (Young Readers Adaptation)
Language: en
Pages: 240
Authors: Daniel James Brown
Categories: Juvenile Nonfiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2015-09-08 - Publisher: Penguin

The #1 New York Times bestseller about the Greatest Generation freshly adapted for the next generation. For readers of Unbroken, out of the depths of the Great Depression comes the astonishing tale of nine working-class boys from the American West who at the 1936 Olympics showed the world what true
The Boys in the Boat - 101 Amazing Facts You Didn't Know
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: G Whiz
Categories: Juvenile Nonfiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2014-07-10 - Publisher: GWhizBooks.com

What are the amazing facts of The Boys in the Boat by Daniel James Brown? Do you want to know the golden nuggets of facts readers love? If you've enjoyed the book, then this will be a must read delight for you! Collected for readers everywhere are 101 book facts
The Boy's Own Annual
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: G Whiz
Categories: Children's periodicals
Type: BOOK - Published: 1900 - Publisher:

Books about The Boy's Own Annual

Popular All Time

Think Like a Genius
Napoleon's Hemorrhoids
The Southerner's Handbook
The Official DLAB Training Manual
Killing the Mob: The Fight Against Organized Crime in America by Bill O'Reilly & Martin Dugard: Conversation Starters
Cambridge Latin Course (5th Ed) Unit 2 Stage 14
Short Stories in Spanish for Beginners
Philip Roth: The Biography by Blake Bailey: Conversation Starters
FAA-H-8083-25B Pilot’s Handbook of Aeronautical Knowledge
Master News English
Summary of Make Your Bed: Little Things That Can Change Your Life… And Maybe the World by William H. McRaven
Senior Storekeeper
Study Guide
Serbian: An Essential Grammar
The Merchant of Venice (No Fear Shakespeare)
The Body Book by Cameron Diaz - A 30-minute Summary
The Purpose Driven Life
Adios, America by Ann Coulter  Key Takeaways, Analysis & Review

Recent Books: