The Boys in the Boat

The emotional heart of the tale lies with Joe Rantz, a teenager without family or prospects, who rows not only to regain his shattered self-regard but also to find a real place for himself in the world.

The Boys in the Boat

The Boys in the Boat

The #1 New York Times–bestselling story about American Olympic triumph in Nazi Germany and now the inspiration for the PBS documentary “The Boys of ‘36'.” For readers of Unbroken, out of the depths of the Depression comes an irresistible story about beating the odds and finding hope in the most desperate of times—the improbable, intimate account of how nine working-class boys from the American West showed the world at the 1936 Olympics in Berlin what true grit really meant. It was an unlikely quest from the start. With a team composed of the sons of loggers, shipyard workers, and farmers, the University of Washington’s eight-oar crew team was never expected to defeat the elite teams of the East Coast and Great Britain, yet they did, going on to shock the world by defeating the German team rowing for Adolf Hitler. The emotional heart of the tale lies with Joe Rantz, a teenager without family or prospects, who rows not only to regain his shattered self-regard but also to find a real place for himself in the world. Drawing on the boys’ own journals and vivid memories of a once-in-a-lifetime shared dream, Brown has created an unforgettable portrait of an era, a celebration of a remarkable achievement, and a chronicle of one extraordinary young man’s personal quest.

More Books:

The Boys in the Boat
Language: en
Pages: 416
Authors: Daniel James Brown
Categories: Sports & Recreation
Type: BOOK - Published: 2013-06-04 - Publisher: Penguin

The #1 New York Times–bestselling story about American Olympic triumph in Nazi Germany and now the inspiration for the PBS documentary “The Boys of ‘36'.” For readers of Unbroken, out of the depths of the Depression comes an irresistible story about beating the odds and finding hope in the most
The Boys in the Boat (Young Readers Adaptation)
Language: en
Pages: 240
Authors: Daniel James Brown
Categories: Juvenile Nonfiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2015-09-08 - Publisher: Penguin

The #1 New York Times bestseller about the Greatest Generation freshly adapted for the next generation. For readers of Unbroken, out of the depths of the Great Depression comes the astonishing tale of nine working-class boys from the American West who at the 1936 Olympics showed the world what true
The Boys in the Boat
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: Daniel James Brown
Categories: Juvenile Nonfiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2018-01-03 - Publisher: Thorndike Press Large Print

Books about The Boys in the Boat
The Boys in the Boat
Language: en
Pages: 404
Authors: Daniel James Brown
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 2014-05-27 - Publisher: Penguin

Traces the story of an American rowing team from the University of Washington that defeated elite rivals at Hitler's 1936 Berlin Olympics, sharing the experiences of such contributors as their enigmatic coach, a visionary boat builder and a homeless teen rower. By the author of Under a Flaming Sky. Reprint.
Summary and Analysis of The Boys in the Boat
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: Worth Books
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 2017 - Publisher:

Books about Summary and Analysis of The Boys in the Boat

Popular All Time

KG: A to Z
The Boys in the Boat
Relentless
Approaching Ali: A Reclamation in Three Acts
Hornady 10th Edition Handbook of Cartridge Reloading
The Sports Gene
The MeatEater Guide to Wilderness Skills and Survival
The Inner Game of Tennis
Mind Gym : An Athlete's Guide to Inner Excellence
Long Range Shooting Handbook
2020 NFHS Baseball Rules Book
2020 NFHS Football Rules Book
Glute Lab
Bigger Leaner Stronger
100 Deadly Skills: COMBAT EDITION
2020 NFHS Softball Rules Book
Winning in Reverse
Rebuilding Milo

Recent Books: